Some thoughts on Canadian October events.

If we had lived in Canada still, it would have been the Thanksgiving weekend now. Here nowbody but us pay attention to Thanksgiving. We have usually tried to have a turkey dinner with family on this occation but this year we are not doing the turkey thing… I do have a turkey in the freezer, but I think I will save it  for later.

But every October we put out some of the Halloween inspired stuff early so that we get to enjoy it  for more than just a day. When I first moved to Canada I found Halloween to be such a weird thing. Then it sort of grew on me and now I practically try to attract kids in the neighbourhood so we get trick-or-treaters come to our door. Here are some pumpkin candleholders we bought a week ago.

DSC05990

Another thing I sort of miss since we moved here are all the garage sales we would go to just for fun. I read in the local paper that there will be a big one in town next weekend so that’ll be fun!

Today I was awakened by Hubby serving me coffee in bed. Then we had a slow breakfast, I showered and finally got myself out the door. Kristi , my Mom and I went to the bakery for a coffee and some light lunch before shopping for groceries. I had intentions of doing more course-work but I must admit I haven’t touched it, so tomorrow I have to hand in two assignments AND correct some tests before going back to work on Monday. By the time I got home it was time for preparing supper. I made spicy meatballs for the spaghettisauce.

DSC05992

This pumpkin for candles I bought ten years ago.

About lisbeth58bula

Teacher, mother of two tenage girls, married to a Canadian hubby, currently living in my home country Norway. I knit, crochet, do needlepoint,draw,read, listen to music,laugh a lot- and talk!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

