Cold. Dark. Dark.Cold. More Dark. More cold!

As I put my foot on the floor after waking up this morning the power went and we were in total darkness. Thewhole block, several blocks were without electricity. We had one flashlight that the girls kept upstairs in order to get themselves ready while I fumbled down the stairs with my hands in front of me until I ran into matches and candles approximately where I expected them to be. Then I started a fire while wondering how long it would last. It was minus 21 outside so I knew it wouldn’t take long before this house would be like a fridge! I worried about my dog, I worried that the power-cut  was all the way down to mom’s as well. This is all you could see  of the living room:

The girls finished upstairs and I got to take Emma out using the flashlight to find my way out to the sidewalk on main street where the lights from the cars gave some clues as to where to go. I started the car so it could get warmed up a bit before we let. I was glad I had taken it out for a drive last night, thinking it might not start if I didn’t charge the batteries by driving every few hours.. The power came back on as we locked the door to drive off!

As soon as I got home I started another fire and I’ve been feeding it regularily ever since. The girls are off to drama class and the Hubby and I are at the Feet Up –  stage:

        

And  as for me; a bit of this mindless knitting:

I have every intention of working on another passage in my home exam – essay. I pulled my hair and got another one in last night. I cannot begin to tell you how uninspired I am doing it. And tomorrow I have to  finish it. It’s my study day and it has to be in the mail Monday morning so Saturday and Sunday are also options.. But I’m hoping to finish tomorrow. I WANT to finish tomorrow.

About lisbeth58bula

Teacher, mother of two tenage girls, married to a Canadian hubby, currently living in my home country Norway. I knit, crochet, do needlepoint,draw,read, listen to music,laugh a lot- and talk!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

