Old things with memories attached. Part one

I always liked things that are old -at least to me, they don’t have to be antiques per se- and I have things in my house that are second hand, found or given to me, bought at second hand stores or inherited. There are memories tied to a lot of the ones given to me.

At the cottage we have things that are from my great grandmother. From the farm where she grew up. She was born in 1874. I remember her weel because she lived to be 96 yars old. I was 12 then. This wall hanging has been at the cottage  for more than forty years already. This one must have been woven with handspun yarn, most likely hand dyed, too.  Woven on a home made loom. I think it is so cool, especially because I have taken up weaving myself and can appreciate more of the work behind it. My dad made the carving when he got into wood carving as a new hobby when he retired.

About lisbeth58bula

Teacher, mother of two tenage girls, married to a Canadian hubby, currently living in my home country Norway. I knit, crochet, do needlepoint,draw,read, listen to music,laugh a lot- and talk!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Old things with memories attached. Part one

  1. Kari says:

    God morgen!
    WOW! Så mye fint håndarbeid du viser frem i dag! Lekkert 🙂
    Jeg er tidlig oppe for å nyte den siste dagen i påsken, men jeg tror jeg finner senga igjen en halv time til – for dette er alt for tidlig!
    Ladyen feiler egentlig ikke noe, men hun har fått sin første løpetid, og hun er litt småpjask av den grunn. Regner med at det order seg i løpet av et par dager til nå. Hun slitter i Cubus-truser med søtt mønster og ett eller annet med vinger når hun er inne, og hun er om mulig enda mer kosete enn hun bruker være. Det trodde vi ikke var mulig da…..
    Ha en fin dag, og nyt den.
    Vakre tanker fra K@ri*

Leave a Reply

